Skip to product information
1 of 6

Mein Shop

Kota the Friend - Protea - limited colored vinyl edition

Kota the Friend - Protea - limited colored vinyl edition

Regular price €27,99 EUR
Regular price Sale price €27,99 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


Limited Edition of 500 copies yellow / red splattered 12" vinyl.

Kota The Friend, a native of Brooklyn, delivers a delightful dose of summer vibes with his latest album, "Protea." Comprising 16 tracks, the album showcases Kota's creative fusion of funk, hip-hop, house, and jazz, creating a kaleidoscopic musical experience.

According to Kota himself, "Protea" serves as a heartfelt love letter, expressing deep gratitude and admiration for the person who stood by him during his darkest moments. The album's title is inspired by his wife's favorite flower, the protea, and it was crafted as a timeless piece of art dedicated to her. Kota's wife played a significant role in the album's creation, as they frequently listened to the featured artists together during her daily commutes. As a result, she played a crucial role in curating the album's lineup.

Ultimately, "Protea" embodies a beautiful message of appreciation for those who offer unwavering support and love during vulnerable times. Kota hopes that this album will remind listeners to show gratitude and offer flowers to the people who uplift and stand by them.

track list

A1 Super 8 Feat. WolfTyla

A2 NOLA II Feat. Alan Stone & Tarriona "Tank" Ball

A3 Red Lights

A4 The Good (Interlude)

A5 Fireplace Feat. Jennifair

A6 Hope You Heal

A7 Barcelona Feat. Samm Henshaw

A8 Forget About It Feat. Zak Abel

B1 The Bad (Interlude)

B2 Protea

B3 Super Rare Feat. Hello Oshay

B4 Keep Me Goin

B5 Junipero Beach (Interlude)

B6 Nobody

B7 Autumn In Paris Feat. Braxton Cook

B8 Road Rage Feat. Aloe Blacc


Vinyl mastering by Staub Audio Engineering

View full details